FIFA Goal of 2009

Posted on December 13, 2009 by  

FIFA have announced the ten goals nominated for the Puskas Award, given to the scorer of the best goal of the year. The winner will be chosen by votes cast on the FIFA website and criteria for the award include the quality of the goal and the importance of the match in which it was scored.

The ten goals nominated for the award are as follows:

– Emmanuel Adebayor (Manchester City) Arsenal v Villarreal, Champions League, 7 April 2009.

– Eliran Atar (Bnei Yehuda) v Maccabi Netanya, 7 February 2009.

– Michael Essien (Chelsea) v Barcelona, Champions League, 6 March 2009.

-Grafite (Wolsfburg) v Bayern Munich, 4 April 2009.

-Andres Iniesta (Barcelona) v Chelsea, Champions League, 6 March 2009.

– Luis Angel Landin (Cruz Azul) v Morelia, 12 April 2009.

– Katlego Mphela (South Africa) v Spain, 28 June 2009.

– Nilmar (Villarreal) International v Corinthians, 10 May 2009.

– Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) Man Utd v Porto, Champions League,15 April 2009.

– Fernando Torres (Liverpool) vBlackburn, April 11, 2009

Although this could be a late gatecrasher to the list…..Maynor Figueroa for Wigan at Stoke on Saturday, wow!

Also on the subject of goals, here are a few compilations from Match of The Day:

November Goal of the Month

October Goal of the Month

August Goal of the Month

2008/09 Goal of the Season


Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!